Grizzly Sow and Cubs Out for a Stroll

I had heard reports of a sow grizzly with four spring cubs in the Hoodoos area of Yellowstone.  I went there this morning hoping to see and photograph them.  Four cubs is very rare.

I was fortunate.  There they were.  Unfortunately, they were about 200 yards away and partly blocked by branches.  So, I waited.  And waited.  It was below freezing and very windy.  The wind was really pushing my big lens around, even with me steadying it.  Getting a sharp image was going to be a challenge.

Finally, after what seemed like an hour, they moved into a relatively clear area.  I was hoping for a good composition.  Mom and cub 1, the runt of the litter on her back, and  cub 2 were cooperative; but cubs 3 and 4 were not.   This is one reason why photographing people is easier.

A sow grizzly walks with her four cubs in the Hoodoos area of Yellowstone.

Grizzly Sow and Four Cubs, Yellowstone National Park

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grizzly Sow and Cubs Out for a Stroll

  1. Great shot of the quads

  2. Harvey says:

    Hey Jim,

    I suppose you could have always moved in closer! Just Kidding! Can’t imagine what a momma bear would be like trying to protect 4 cubs. Great capture though.
    Harvey

  3. rowan says:

    Hey Jim,
    Just wanted to drop a note and say it was nice meeting you. I hope we run into each other shooting in Yellowstone again. I like your wolf shot from Twin Lakes. I was at the HooDoos late friday as well, very cold, but great to see the sow with 4 cubs. Great site as well, I really enjoy your photography.
    Rowan

    • jimcoda says:

      Hi Rowan,
      It was nice meeting you as well. I’m glad you like the wolf photo and my site. Thank you. I’ll be back next Spring. Last Spring was my first time for this time of year and I really enjoyed it, but this Spring has been unbelievable. I saw 10 bears today in photo range, including two grizzlies mating. That was a first for me. I’ll look for you next Spring.
      Jim

Comments are closed.