Hummers Are Amazing

I find hummers to be amazing birds because of their size, speed and maneuverability.  According to Hummingbird World, their nests are about the size of half of an English walnut shell.  The outer part of their nests is made up of moss and plant fibers.   Sometimes it is shingled with lichen.  The rest is comprised of plant down and spider web material.  Eggs measure one-half inch in length.

A female Anna's Hummingbird sits in nest.

Anna's Hummingbird in Nest, Point Reyes National Seashore

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hummers Are Amazing

  1. We have humminbirds that come and visit from spring till fall.We have flowers planted specifically to attract them and there are times when doing yard work I am buzzed by several males lol.Thanks for posting such a wonderful picture..its not often I get to see the little fellas at rest.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks for your comment Jodi. I know what you mean about being buzzed. I was standing under a pine tree photographing some songbirds just outside the tree when two male hummers got in a territorial squabble and flew around my head for what seemed like a minute or more. Their little wings get real loud when they are within inches of your ears like these two little guys were. I couldn’t believe they were so close to me. I’m sure they knew I was some living creature, but they had no fear of me.

  2. Pat Ulrich says:

    Wonderful shot, Jim! We were lucky enough to have an Anna’s start a nest in the tree right outside of our window a few years back, and my wife even got to see her lay an egg one day while she was working from home. Unfortunately though, we never got to see the eggs hatch. On a particularly windy day, we got home to find the nest gone from its precariously balanced spot on some small branches. It was really awesome to get a few days of being so close to one though!

Comments are closed.