American Kestrel, Point Reyes National Seashore

An American Kestrel sits on a post with its prey.

American Kestrel, Point Reyes National Seashore

Kestrels are hard to photograph because they are so skittish.  I got a break with this one.  It was a little slower to move with dinner on the table.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to American Kestrel, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Pingback: Bird on a Wire - American Kestrel

  2. Cole Slater says:

    Great shot! I was in Point Reyes on Jan 6th and was able to capture a few decent shots of some Kestrels myself, none of which compare to yours. I simply love the abundance of wildlife located in the Point Reyes area. http://www.colestrailtales.blogspot.com

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Cole. You’re right about the Point Reyes Area. Thanks to some forward-thinking people in the 1960s, it’s not a big subdivision now.

  3. Pat Ulrich says:

    Congrats, Jim! That’s a great capture of a kestrel! Not only did you get it to hang around long enough to get a capture, but you got a great background color too.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Pat. They sure are hard to photograph. So are bluebirds. I was lucky yesterday. I got some photos of both. I think I’ll add them to the poster series I’m doing with the Wild Birds Unlimited store in Novato.

  4. Cathy R says:

    Boy, that kestrel is giving you the evil eye. Great shot!!

Comments are closed.