Bobcat, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

Photo of a bobcat running.

Bobcat on the Run

I went out to Point Reyes for a while today.  I saw two bobcats and a coyote, not to mention the more common things like elk, deer, various hawks, a burrowing owl,  and other birds.  When I first saw this bobcat it was lying down in the grass.  I wasn’t sure if it was a bobcat or a tabby cat.  One of our two tabby cats has a face that looks just like a bobcat’s face and there are plenty of farm cats in the Seashore.  Anyway, as you can see from the photo, it was definitely a bobcat.  Point Reyes is a good place to spot bobcats, but they exist in suitable habitat throughout Marin County.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bobcat, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Sounds like an awesome day! (Of course, any day spent in Point Reyes is an awesome day!) Really nice shot of this bobcat too. It looks quite focused on something. Very cool that you saw a burrowing owl there too. I’ve read that they are occasionally in the area around the Bull Point Trail. Did you see the one today in that area, or do they occur in other parts of the park as well?

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Pat. The burrowing owl I saw today was straight across the road from the Abbott’s Lagoon parking lot. I saw a couple recently at the H Ranch. A friend saw a couple on the drive to Chimney Rock. I looked for them a week later and didn’t see them. Look for them at recent badger diggings. I’m not sure they stay in one spot long though. Yes, today was good at Point Reyes. I was there two days ago and that was good too.

  2. Alan says:

    Great day indeed! I love this bobcat shot. We saw one briefly through the fog at Tennessee Valley last weekend. Looks like we need to get out to Point Reyes soon.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Alan. I think your chances of seeing one are about equal at both places. We are fortunate that Marin seems to have a very healthy bobcat population.

Comments are closed.