Coyote, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

A coyote stops to take a look.

Coyote, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

This resident coyote was looking for something to eat when it spotted yet another Point Reyes tourist.  The Seashore is a good place to spot coyotes, but they exist throughout Marin County, provided there is good habitat for them.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Coyote, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Beautiful shot, Jim! really nice colors in the image, and I love the eye contact — it really pulls you right into its stare!

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Pat. I went out there again today. That’s three days out of the last four. Saw another bobcat, another coyote and various other things. That’s three bobcats and three coyotes in the last three visits and each visit was only about four hours. Yellowstone is my favorite place to photograph, but I’ve never seen a bobcat there and many days I don’t see a coyote. (Of course, I haven’t seen any bears or wolves at Point Reyes.) Point Reyes’ stock is rising with me. And it’s only 45 minutes from home.

      • Pat Ulrich says:

        That’s awesome, Jim — I’m so jealous that you’ve been there that much! Point Reyes is my favorite location to go for photography. I can’t compare it to Yellowstone or the other serious megafauna parks, since I have yet to get there, but there are very few trips where I leave the park without having used my camera, and I don’t think I’ve ever had a trip that I didn’t see some interesting wildlife. It’s a true jewel, and I really cherish living so close!

      • Jim Coda says:

        Well said Pat. You should go to Yellowstone when you get a chance. The best time to go, in my opinion, is from about May 10 to June 10.

  2. William says:

    I saw a wolf today at point reyes two.

  3. William says:

    Have pic to prove

    • Jim Coda says:

      Well then, let’s see it.

      • Jon Engel says:

        I was in the park on January 25, two days ago and watched two wolves for several minutes. I am from North Dakota and have seen a lot of coyotes, and these two guys were wolves. Sorry, no pictures.
        Jon Engel
        Jengel4083@aol.com

      • Jim Coda says:

        Hi Jon. There is a wolf pack in the northeast part of the State now. Those are the only ones I’ve heard of.

      • Jon Engel says:

        I went back to the park several days later and talked with a biologist that works in the park. She assured me that there are no wolves, only coyotes. So I guess I stand corrected.
        But I will say that those were the largest, and most wolf like coyotes I have ever seen. About twice the size of a ‘normal’ coyote. Thanks for the response.

Comments are closed.