Tule Elk, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

Photo of a tule elk cow.

Cows Know Best

A cow elk gazes off into the distance.  Pardon the anthropomorphism, but she looks like she is smiling.  This photo was taken at the Tule Elk Refuge on Tomales Point.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tule Elk, Point Reyes National Seashore, Marin County, California

  1. John Wall says:

    Gorgeous animal! I like the close-up profile.

  2. Katie says:

    Nice post. I learned recently that our local Elkhorn Slough was named after the tule elk that once inhabited this area. I had no idea what they looked like, until now.

  3. Pingback: Male Northern Harrier Asks: “Are you finished?” | Jim Coda's Blog

Comments are closed.