Kestrel Hunts in the Rain

A kestrel sits on a post during a rain shower.

Kestrel, Point Reyes National Seashore

This female kestrel has just finished a meal and is looking for another.  I assume she has better places to roost when it is raining, but it had been raining for a long time and she probably needed to eat.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kestrel Hunts in the Rain

  1. Great shot, especially with the rain drops! I’m curious as to how you protect your equipment in wet weather?

  2. Gregory Hughes says:

    Yup – I’m with Coles – great portrait, but how fun to catch the rain drops!

  3. Pat Ulrich says:

    That’s a real beauty, Jim! A great concentrated pose, and I really like the water drops too.

  4. John Wall says:

    I love the clarity and color, and of course the rain, but also how the kestrel is intent on its hunting rather than on you.

  5. Jma says:

    Wonderful picture of this kestrel ! Perfect light and exposure, and the drops of rain brings a touch of dynamism ! Congratulations Jim !

    Jean-Michel

Comments are closed.