Northern Harrier, Point Reyes National Seashore

A Northern Harrier finishes A snack.

Northern Harrier, Point Reyes National Seashore

I went out to Point Reyes yesterday for the afternoon.  Unfortunately, the fog rolled in about an hour or two before sunset.  That wiped out my hope of getting a good image of some animal lit by the setting sun.  Fortunately, this male harrier allowed me to photograph him midday.  He had just eaten a lizard and, shortly thereafter, decided there was no good reason to remain on the ground.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Northern Harrier, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Jma says:

    Fantastic portrait of this preying bird ( i’m not sure of the translation ) even if the light is hard.

    Jean-Michel

  2. John Wall says:

    I’m loving all your Pt. Reyes work, Jim.

  3. John S. Mead says:

    Another winner from Pt Reyes! looks like he was sizing you up as a potential dessert after his lizard…LOL Kudos on a fine shot.

  4. Alan says:

    Nice Shot Jim. We sure saw a ton of Norther Harriers at Pt. Reyes.

    I was great to run into you and swap notes. We ended up seeing two more bobcats our last day. One was by the small pond right after you turn onto Pierce Point Road and the other was out of the park along the road to Petaluma. Who knew we would see one there.

    I also had another fleeting glimpse of the weasel at Abbotts Lagoon but it was too quick for photos.

    In any case, I look forward to more Point Reyes photos from you. It sure is a beautiful place.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Alan. It was great running into you out there and I’m glad you saw all the wildlife you did. I’ve seen a bobcat on my way to Point Reyes a couple of times, but haven’t seen it lately.

Comments are closed.