Pack of Coyotes on the Hunt

Coyote Pack, Point Reyes National Seashore

Coyote Pack on Outcrop

I went out to Point Reyes yesterday afternoon.   I saw four bobcats, although one was probably a double count.  It’s hard to be sure.  I saw no coyotes until the last hour of the day when I saw a pack of four.  That’s the most I’ve ever seen there in a group.  I think I saw three of these individuals a week ago in the same area.  Unfortunately, when they got to this point they were too spread out to all be in the frame together.  These two were in the lead.  Are they the alpha pair?  Click here to order a print of this image.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pack of Coyotes on the Hunt

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    This is really cool, Jim. Interesting to see them around in a pack, I’ve only seen lone or pairs in Point Reyes before. Love the sprinkling of wildflowers in this shot too!

  2. Jma says:

    I love this wide shot, and the two coyotes seem very curious … to the photographer?

    Jean-Michel

  3. John Wall says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if they’re denning in the area. The only time I saw four coyotes at once was when I was trying to sneak up on a coyote den, crawling on my belly. I looked up along a ridge to my right and saw four coyotes galloping toward me. I took the hint and got out of there.

    • Jim Coda says:

      You’re probably right John. I’d like to find a den to photograph. I would like to have seen you crawling with the coyotes running toward you.

Comments are closed.