Handsome Bobcat

Portrait of a handsome bobcat.

Handsome Bobcat

I saw this bobcat for the first time a couple of days ago.  He’s very well-marked.  I’m used to seeing bobcats in Point Reyes National Seashore with little or no distinctive markings on the torso.  This guy has very pronounced spots and stripes on his trunk.  I think I’ll remember him as “Handsome Bob.”   Unfortunately, Handsome Bob didn’t stop in the prettiest place.  It looks like a badger has been through here shortly before Bob and really tore the place up.  I saw a coyote stop here and hunt a couple of weeks ago.  It must be (or was) a good spot for gophers and/or other rodents.  Click here to purchase a print of this image.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Handsome Bobcat

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Great shot, Jim — the markings on this one really are special. A beautiful specimen!

  2. Jma says:

    Great shot … it makes me dream !

    Jean-Michel

  3. Alan says:

    Handsome Bob is indeed handsome. That is one good looking cat.

  4. Jen Joynt says:

    That is a very pretty cat. Much more prominent markings than the cats I’ve seen. Nice find.

  5. John Wall says:

    Definitely a healthy, handsome cat. I hope he’s staying dry out there today!

Comments are closed.