Portrait of a Bobcat; Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of a bobcat.

Sitting in the Sun

I saw this bobcat about a month ago.  He was sitting in a field enjoying the warmth of the afternoon sun.  He looks like he may have been daydreaming.  Do bobcats daydream?  If you would like to purchase a print of this image click here.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Portrait of a Bobcat; Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Alan says:

    That’s a nice shot Jim. The one cat we saw close last month was also sunbathing.

    We spent last Sat. at Point Reyes but only saw one bobcat far off. We did have a close coyote, but otherwise things were quiet there.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Alan. Well, still, one of each in a day is not bad, especially when one is close. The rain has kept me away lately. I hope to get out there soon.

  2. Jma says:

    Very impressive portrait of this bobcat, with perfect deep of filed. Congratulations Jim !

    Jean-Michel
    http://leblogdugeai.canalblog.com

  3. Pat Ulrich says:

    Very nice portrait! I like the side-on profile, since it shows off their thick muzzle, and really illustrates how much more they are structured like a big cat instead of a house cat. The summer-like weather we’ve had this week is making me anxious to get outside in the park this weekend, although I think I’m going to be targeting shorebirds instead of the interior wildlife.

  4. Cathy R says:

    Bobcats dream of chipmunks who are too fat to run up trees.

    Fantastic shot, as always. Someday, I will see a bobcat in person.

Comments are closed.