A Great Blue Heron Grabs a Crayfish.

A great blue heron grabs a crayfish.

Great Blue Heron, Marin County, California

Just down the street from my house is an agricultural field.  In the winter part of it floods.  It drains into a large wetland which is connected to San Francisco Bay.  It attracts herons, egrets and ducks.  A couple of days ago a great blue heron was hunting there.  I stopped and watched to see what it would catch.  I expected it to catch small fish.  To my surprise it caught several crayfish.  It will soon dry up.  If you would like to purchase a print of this image click here.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Great Blue Heron Grabs a Crayfish.

  1. John Wall says:

    That’s really cool, Jim. I love that the crawdad’s practically posing.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks John. I was really surprised that this farm field held crawdads. It will be dry not long from now. I guess they will follow the retreat of the water until it ends where it is wet all year.

Comments are closed.