Red-winged Blackbird

Photo of red-winged blackbird perched on a barbed-wire fence.

Wire Is As Good as a Branch for a Blackbird

I like and enjoy seeing all wild birds.  Okay, I’ll admit that I like some more than others.   Take today’s photo for example.  It’s not a bald eagle.  It’s not a peregrine falcon.  It’s not a great gray owl.  It’s a red-winged blackbird.  Still, I was happy to have the opportunity it gave me to photograph it and to try to create an attractive image.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red-winged Blackbird

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    lovely shot, Jim — especially with the flowers! I know what you mean about some birds being preferred to others. I tend to completely ignore common gull species, crows, and mallards. They are all interesting for sure, but just too boring in my mind to photograph. Red-winged blackbirds on the other hand are one of my favorites. I love their attitude and those showy red epaulettes!

  2. bob says:

    why is it blue aren’t they black?

    • Jim Coda says:

      Good point Bob. It does have a bit of a blue color cast. In looking at my master file I see that in my color-correction step I was slightly off on where I clicked on my color sample point and it boosted blue more than it should have. I’ve replaced the original image with the corrected one.

Comments are closed.