Long-tailed Weasel; Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of long-tailed weasel peering out of a burrow.

Long-tailed Weasel on the Hunt

Long-tailed weasels are about as hard to find and photograph as badgers. This is the second one I’ve seen and been able to photograph at Point Reyes.  I found it a few days after photographing the mother badger and her cubs.  Every week should be so good.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Long-tailed Weasel; Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    This is fantastic, Jim! How cool to have such a close encounter with one. You’ve had quite a week spotting the small predators of Point Reyes!

    • Jim Coda says:

      Hi Pat. I found another badger den yesterday. I just posted a photo of one of the cubs. I’ve been very lucky the last few trips out there.

  2. Alan says:

    Jim this is a fantastic shot! We had two fleeting glimpses of a long-tailed weasel by Abbott’s Lagoon, but we never got a good enough glimpse for a photo.

    To me this is the dream shot. Well done!

  3. Leslie says:

    Beautiful close-up. Nice to find your blog

Comments are closed.