A Red-winged Blackbird Stretches Its Wings

A red-winged blackbird stretches her wings.

Red-winged Blackbird, Point Reyes National Seashore

I think that for every female or sub-adult male red-winged blackbird that gets photographed there must be 100 adult males that are photographed.  The adult males are quite striking with their red epaulets.  But I think the females and sub-adult males are beautiful as well.  It’s just more subtle.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Red-winged Blackbird Stretches Its Wings

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Lovely shot, Jim! The stretching wing is quite lovely, and I really like the grass in the background. And I agree that while the males are more flashy in images, the females/sub-adults are definitely worth photographing as well.

Comments are closed.