Badger Cubs

Photo of badger cubs outside den entrance.

Badger Cubs, Point Reyes National Seashore

Here is another photo of the badger cubs I found a few days ago.  The dominant cub is clearly visible.  The other cub is partially obscured by vegetation with its back to the viewer.  Note that when viewed from behind its fur is almost indistinguishable from the mound of earth.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Badger Cubs

  1. Jen Joynt says:

    Wow, Jim. What great discoveries! And lovely shots. I guess I need to make a visit to Point Reyes.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Jen. I’m a big fan of Yellowstone for wildlife photography, but here in the Bay Area you can’t beat Point Reyes. In fact, it may be the best place to photograph wildlife in California.

  2. Pat Ulrich says:

    This is so awesome, Jim! I was out on Tomales Point last weekend and saw a ton of badger burrows along the trail area, but no luck to see one. As I looked at your image, I was thinking the same as you said — that fur is impossible to see if they aren’t looking at you!

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Pat. I saw what I think is a badger burrow today and it looked very fresh. I’ve checked it a few times the past two weeks, but no sighting as of yet.

Comments are closed.