A Young Bull Tule Elk Finds An Antler to Chew On.

Photo of an elk chewing on a deer antler.

Young Bull Elk with Deer Antler,  Point Reyes National Seashore

The young bull tule elk on the left is fortunate to have found a shed antler to chew on.  Shed antlers are an important source of minerals, such as calcium.  He laid down and worked on the antler for about half an hour.  The other young bull would like to have it.  Such is life.

A couple of days ago I remembered that I started this blog when I was in Yellowstone in May of last year.  I checked and found that I published the first photo on May 13, 2010.  A year ago today.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Young Bull Tule Elk Finds An Antler to Chew On.

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Congrats on the anniversary, Jim! You’ve got a great blog, and I look forward to your images every day! I hope you plan to keep up the great work too — I’m going to be moving away from California in the fall (heading to the Boston area), and I’ll enjoy living vicariously in Point Reyes through your photography.

  2. John Wall says:

    Congratulations on the milestone, Jim. Cheers! (And here’s to wishing we were in Yellowstone right about now….)

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks John. It’s a great time to be in Yellowstone right now. I was going to be there now, but have decided to postpone the trip.

  3. Alan says:

    This is a nice shot to round off the year Jim. As you know, I have been enjoying your blog pretty much from the beginning and appreciate the time it takes to put it together.

    So, here’s to another great year of adventures and photographs!

    (I just clinked my beer bottle against the monitor and took a swig)

  4. Willard says:

    Hi Jim,

    I found your blog by reading Larry Thorngren’s and found where you commented on the wolf hunt so I followed the link and find I really like your photography so I hope to return often.

  5. TimB says:

    Hi Jim, that’s a really neat moment you caught there, looks like he found a blacktail antler and he’s decided to make it part of his new elk antler! Recycling is no contrivance of man.

Comments are closed.