Great Horned Owl Waits for Darkness

Photo of great horned owl perched in tree.

Great Horned Owl, Point Reyes National Seashore

This owl was in a tree next to the road to Point Reyes Lighthouse.  Point Reyes National Seashore has a healthy population of great horned owls.   The ranching portion of Point Reyes is mainly made up of grazing lands.  These lands have a fairly high population of gophers and other rodents.  They are also punctuated by stands of mature trees.  Find a stand of mature trees and you’ll find a pair of great horned owls.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Horned Owl Waits for Darkness

  1. Gregory Hughes says:

    Hi Jim,

    I’ve been trying all spring to catch a glimpse of one of these beauties – and have been ‘skunked’! I can hear them at dusk and even before sunup, but can I spot ’em – nope! Guess I’ll just rely on your great images!

Comments are closed.