“Hey Mom, What About the Ones With Only Two Legs”?

Blacktail Doe and Fawn, Point Reyes National Seashore

A blacktail fawn looks up to its mother; Point Reyes National Seashore.

“Can they run?  Are they dangerous?”  OK, deer don’t talk per se.  Do you ever wonder how animal parents teach their offspring how to survive?    The young learn a lot by just watching their mother and doing what she does.  That makes it relatively easy to learn what to eat.  Taste also informs them.  But what about things like the first time they see a coyote or us?  Is it pure instinct to go on alert?  I think so.  But I also know deer can vocalize.  I’ve heard it.  I know they also stamp their hooves when they are alerted to danger.  I’ve seen that.  I wonder what other ways a doe communicates with her offspring.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Hey Mom, What About the Ones With Only Two Legs”?

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    This is wonderful — I love the expression of the little one!

  2. Jim, you’ve posed a good question. I know animals have a lot of different ways of alerting one another of danger. For example Fence Lizards are often times seen doing what looks like push ups. It is thought that this is a method of alerting fellow lizards. Although it could also be used to draw attention to itself similar to a student raising their hand in a classroom. It seems as though physical action quickly draws attention and often delivers the message more clearly than vocals.
    Great pics by the way. I need to get out to Point Reyes to see the fawns. It really is a special time of year.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Cole. It’s a great time to be at Point Reyes. I like your point about fence lizards. I’ve seen them do that.

Comments are closed.