Badger, Yellowstone National Park

Photo of female badger at her den.

Badger Mom at Her Den

In the spring of 2009 this mother badger and her three cubs were very popular photo subjects in Yellowstone.  Her den was fairly close to the road.   She crossed the road often and I worried that she’d get hit.  I don’t think she ever did get hit, at least at that den site, but an awful lot of wildlife is killed on Yellowstone’s roads each year.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Badger, Yellowstone National Park

  1. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    I really enjoy the pictures of the Moms and their babies, its terribly sad the Badger lost one of
    hers, the bear at the top of your blog with her three cubs is one of my favorites. I’m so glad I
    signed up for this part of your website.

  2. Pat Ulrich says:

    This is great, Jim! Badgers are such fascinating animals, and I love the series you have of this mom and her young ones in your galleries. I finally saw a badger (actually two together, along Pierce Point Road) in Point Reyes a few weeks ago! I got a few reasonable pictures of them that I need to prep for the blog. It was really awesome to be able to watch one for about 10 minutes before it disappeared into the tall grass.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Pat. Congratulations on seeing two of them. They’re pretty solitary except for sows and cubs. If that’s the case I wonder what happened to the other cubs. The last cubs that I put on my blog were photographed along Pierce Point Road at the left turn just before the turnoff for the L Ranch.

  3. Leslie says:

    Wondering Jim, where in Yellowstone exactly this was taken so close to the road…Lamar valley perhaps? I’ve seen badgers crossing the road there often.

Comments are closed.