Great Horned Owl, Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of a great horned owl sitting in a barn window.

Great Horned Owl in Barn Window

I went out to Point Reyes a couple of days ago.  The elk rut has started, especially with the Limantour herd.  The Tomales herd seems to lag behind the Limantour herd in antler shedding, antler re-growth, mating and calving.

On my way to check on a part of the Limantour herd I saw this adult great horned owl.  I was pleased to find it roosting where it was.  They’re hard enough to find and most of the ones I find are in trees with distracting backgrounds.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Great Horned Owl, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    Wow!! How regal, Yes does show up great against this background.

  2. John Wall says:

    That’s excellent Jim. Interesting story about the different herds being on different schedules.

  3. Alan says:

    That’s a nice shot Jim. Looks like a good time to get out to Point Reyes.

  4. Pat Ulrich says:

    Very nice, Jim! That is a really cool setting

Comments are closed.