Very Young Tule Elk Calf During the Rut in September

Photo of tule elk calf.

Very Young Tule Elk Calf During the Rut

I photographed this young calf two days ago at Point Reyes.  I am used to seeing calves this young in late April, May and early June, not September.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Very Young Tule Elk Calf During the Rut in September

  1. John says:

    Hi, Jim. I was out there last weekend and also saw a cow with an unweened calf. Interesting.

  2. John says:

    Nope, definitely different. I’m pretty sure the one I saw wasn’t spotted. It stayed real close to mom, and mom kept a sharp eye on me. I was more concerned about upsetting her than I was about the bull.

  3. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    AWWWWWW! I love the little ones, Charlotte

Comments are closed.