Peregrine Falcon, Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of peregrine falcon eating its prey.

Peregrine Falcon Holding Its Prey

I went out to Point Reyes yesterday for the first time since I left for Yellowstone in early September.  I’m still trying to get some good images of elk during the rut.  Thanks to heavy fog around Pierce Point, I didn’t have much luck in that regard.  I was lucky, though, to spot this peregrine feeding on some prey while perched on a fence post.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peregrine Falcon, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Peregrines are such cool birds — awesome that you had a chance to observe one so close! I always enjoyed “trolling for raptors” along Sir Francis Drake Blvd in the fall, there seemed to be one every few hundred feet!

  2. TimB says:

    Hey Jim, welcome back….saw the bull elk this morning at D ranch really sparring up a storm, they arent rutting anymore, but they’re establishing pecking order in the bachelor group and that’s when they really get to locking antlers…plus the sunrise skies this time of year are ourageous, hope to see you out there…

  3. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    Wow, what beautiful colors in the bird. Hope the weather co-operates with your schedule. Charl

  4. Alan says:

    Great shot Jim. I have only seen them in flight as they whiz on by. This capture is great.

  5. John Wall says:

    That’s a stunning shot of the peregrine, Jim. Looks like the weather’s shaping up for nice light right now too, so I’m guessing you are a happy camper!

Comments are closed.