Bull Bison, Yellowstone National Park

Photo of bull bison standing on trail.

“Sure, I’ll get off the trail when you get here.”

Bison are docile creatures and seem fairly harmless.  However, they injure more people in Yellowstone each year than all the other species combined.

Photo showing full body profile of bison bull.

Buffalo Nickel Pose

I’m still upgrading all the images on my website.  I just finished the bison portfolio.  All the “B” mammals are done, except bobcats.  To go to my website click here.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bull Bison, Yellowstone National Park

  1. John Wall says:

    That is one butt-kickin’ bison shot. Great angle, and I like that he’s in his summer coat. Reminds me of how they look on the old nickels.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks John. I had the same thought of the nickel in another shot of him where he is completely sideways to the camera. Maybe I’ll put that one up here or on the website. Update: I added the buffalo nickel pose to this blog post and the website.

  2. Pat Ulrich says:

    Really awesome shot, Jim! He looks especially impressive since you were able to shoot him from below.

    Love the new site too, Jim! Your images look fantastic in the updated galleries — beautifully sharp and crisp. I had a lot of fun re-exploring them!

    • Jim Coda says:

      Thanks Pat. I just updated the blog by adding another photo of the same bison in a pose that reminds me of the buffalo nickel. I had thought of doing it originally, but didn’t. John Wall convinced me to do it in his comment. We miss your Northern California blog out here, but it will be fun following your exploits on the east coast.

Comments are closed.