Sandpiper, Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of a sandpiper checking the remains of a shellfish for something to eat.

Sandpiper, Point Reyes National Seashore

When I go out to Point Reyes to photograph wildlife I usually concentrate on the ranch lands and other open lands of the Seashore.  One day last month I stopped at Drake’s Beach and watched some sandpipers and marbled godwits hunting for food as the waves retreated.  Things were pretty quiet (few people) so I grabbed my gear and headed down there.  Unfortunately for me, some people walking the beach came a little too close for most of the birds and they flew down the beach.  However, a few remained.  This guy came closest.

Limantour Beach is known for shorebirds.  Pat Ulrich has had a lot of success there.  It’s a long way from my usual areas, but I’ll have to check it out.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sandpiper, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Pat Ulrich says:

    Lovely shot, Jim, and nice light too. Glad to see you taking on the shorebirds out there — they are too cute not to be photographed! Thanks much for the shout out as well, and I hope you enjoy Limantour Beach when you get a chance. When I had the itch to photograph shorebirds, that was almost always where I was headed. I recommend hiking out the spit just after a high tide is starting to ebb, and to check out both the beach side and the estuary side. Plus there is always a chance to encounter some tule elk in the coastal scrub on the drive there.

  2. This is absolutely stunning, Jim! One of the challenges i’ve found in making photos of sandpipers is that they tend to hang out in places where they blend into the background. You’ve managed to isolate this one against a lovely colour, a contrasting and simple background for a wonderful composition, with great light. Well done! You might be interested in checking out my post on Sandpipers which contains a photo and some info on these amazing little birds.

  3. John Wall says:

    That’s an interesting shell he’s got hold of.

  4. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    This is a beauty, love all your bird pictures. I envy you that you experience this wonderful place
    of nature, I live so close (Novato) but have not experienced the serenity of the shore for many years.

Comments are closed.