Favorite Spot To Photograph Elk; Point Reyes National Seashore

photo of tule elk cow at sunset.

Tule Elk Cow at Sunset; Tomales Point Elk Preserve

I took this photo during the last hour of the day on the side of the road just before the Pierce Point Ranch complex.

The mile or so before the ranch complex is my favorite place in the Seashore for the end of the day.  The reason for that is that I can usually find some elk crossing from the west side of Pierce Point Road to the east side of the road then.  It’s easy then to position your car close to the elk and with the car between the setting sun and the elk.  The backgrounds are usually clean also.  Close-up photos like the above are easy there then.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Favorite Spot To Photograph Elk; Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. Greg says:

    Amazing portrait, Jim!

  2. Pat Ulrich says:

    I agree completely with your opinion on this stretch of road, Jim. There have been many days where I’ve hiked out the Tomales Point Trail and back and end up with nothing, but then the elk will be right along this stretch of road on the drive out!

Comments are closed.