Sanderling, Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of a sanderling.

The Hunt for Food

I’ve recently begun photographing shorebirds at Point Reyes.  I’ve looked for them twice at Drakes Beach and found sanderlings and marbled godwits there.   Identifying some of them, such as the various sandpipers, is proving difficult.   Also difficult is identifying what they eat.  I’m not sure what this one has caught.  My first guess was that it had a sand flea.  However, a quick search taught me that it might be a mole crab.  Of course, it could be neither of those.  I’ll have to get better informed as I photograph more shorebirds.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sanderling, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. John Wall says:

    I think you’re right on with mole crab. Thankfully the number of different species you’re likely to see out there is more limited than what you might think by looking at a field guide. You’ll get the hang of it.

  2. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    Enjoyed your interesting stories about the shorebirds, would that round object in its mouth be
    something that came out of a shell, part of a crab was a good guess you made. Haven’t gone
    out exploring yet, gotta wait on my girlfriends schedule and weather permitting.

Comments are closed.