Bobcat, Point Reyes National Seashore

Photo of a bobcat loping across a meadow.

Gopher-Getter!

I went out to Point Reyes today.  It was a beautiful day.  The temperature was in the mid-60s and the place was very crowded.  It was a slow day for me photography-wise.  Fortunately, near the end of the day this male bobcat saw me and decided I needed some cheering up.  So, he decided to walk toward me rather than make the normal quick exit in the opposite direction.  Thanks “Bob.”

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bobcat, Point Reyes National Seashore

  1. John Wall says:

    He looks like a cat who knows where he’s going and isn’t going to be easily put off! Nice way to end the day.

  2. Well it feels like they’re beginning to trust that it’s safer to come closer …. bless them. I think that whatever they decide will impact our present to future generation because they actually know much more than we do. It’s always changing. Thanks Jim for this precious photo of nature, never had we the opportunity to do this before cameras, only early pre-camera artist’s of nature delivered us …

  3. Elisa Bupara says:

    Wow! Bob looks just like someone’s kitty cat. How close did it actually get.

    • Jim Coda says:

      Hi Elisa. I don’t think he was more than about 10 yards in front of my car when he passed by me. That’s pretty unusual. They usually run the other way.

  4. Alan says:

    Great shot Jim. We will be going to Pt Reyes in mid Feb so hopefully the bobcats stick around.

  5. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    Good looking Bobcat, hope he didn’t get too close, I stopped into Riverfront Gallery last Wed. to buy a calendar from Lance, and checked out your work there. Like the deer with his or her head
    on the ground and the big sad eyes, I went AWWWWWWWW, and Lance lauged at me of course.
    Enjoy the sunny days. When it warms up I may finally get out past the visitors center, that’s all
    I’ve seen so far.

Comments are closed.