American Badger, Yellowstone National Park

A mother badger at her den.

Badger Mom

This is a mother badger tending to her den entrance.  She had one baby which was underground at this time.  It was about half her size.  Interestingly, the young one was much a much lighter color than her.  It reminded me of the blonde colored badger at the Yellowstone Picnic Area that killed and ate the red fox kits.  I wrote about that here.  This den wasn’t far from the picnic area.  I’m guessing that guy fathered her little one.

About Jim Coda

I am a nature photographer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I specialize in photos of birds, mammals, and landscapes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to American Badger, Yellowstone National Park

  1. Charlotte Crackbon says:

    Hi Jim, Haven’t seen any blogs lately, are you back from Y. S.Is this a new Badger pic or previous
    one from last trip, I remember seeing the story about the babie foxes getting eating, kinda grossed
    me out, but that’s nature’s cycle I hear.

Comments are closed.